suomeksi in English

Turun yliopiston kuoro


Pelkkää ilmaa - Nothing but Air?

pi_kansip.jpgThis album offers new and diverse ways to approach the music of one of the most successful Finnish popular musicians, J. Karjalainen.

A number of arrangers were offered the opportunity to arrange Karjalainen's pieces for mixed choir, and each approached the task according to their own vision. Some chose to stay quite faithful to the original version, assigning parts played by different instruments to different parts of the choir. Some strayed further away towards gospel and even flamenco. The result is a collection of fun as well as touching pieces of modern choir music.

The title piece Pelkkää ilmaa (Nothing but Air) is previously unreleased by J. Karjalainen. The album also contains an original piece composed by Jaakko Mäntyjärvi "in the spirit of J. Karjalainen".

Pieces on this album

1. Villejä lupiineja (J.Karjalainen, arr. Timo Lehtovaara) 2. Pelkkää ilmaa (J.Karjalainen, arr. Tapani Saarinen) 3. Hän (J.Karjalainen, arr. Jan Hellberg) 4. Bum-zi-bum (J.Karjalainen, arr. Erkki Nurminen) 5. Pygmit bailaa (J.Karjalainen, arr. Jori Männistö) 6. Hullun laulu (J.Karjalainen, arr. Erkki Nurminen) 7. Mä käännyn hiljaa pois (J.Karjalainen, arr. Jori Männistö) 8. Ankkurinappi (J.Karjalainen, arr. Jori Männistö) 9. Vanha virsi (J.Karjalainen) 10. Missä se Väinö on? (J.Karjalainen, arr. Timo Lehtovaara) 11. Lumipallo (J.Karjalainen, arr. Erkki Nurminen) 12. Mies, jolle ei koskaan tapahdu mitään (J.Karjalainen, arr. Jan Hellberg) 13. Teräsmies (J.Karjalainen, arr. Erkki Nurminen) 14. Yö kun saapuu Helsinkiin (J.Karjalainen, arr. Timo Lehtovaara) 15. Liskonpojat (J.Karjalainen, arr. Jori Männistö) 16. Oi vauva, minulla on ne siniset (Jaakko Mäntyjärvi)